Use of Stress Measurements to Optimize Performance in Socially Demanding Jobs

Open Webinar

January 24th 2017 
4 pm UK / 6 pm Finland / 5 pm CET / 11 am EST / 8 am PST
This webinar is free.

Speaker: Dr. Erica Thieman, Assistant Professor, Agricultural Education Program, University of Illinois

Stress and recovery can greatly impact on-the-job performance when a person’s job requires a high level of decision making under pressure. This webinar will focus on the impact of stress and recovery on performance in socially demanding jobs (teaching and law enforcement specifically). An intervention utilizing the Firstbeat Lifestyle Assessment to improve performance in socially demanding jobs will also be discussed.

Dr. Erica Thieman is a social justice-oriented teacher educator and education researcher at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign who focuses on the context and impact of resilience and stress in high stress professions. As an experienced teacher educator and educator, Professor Thieman has three generations of her family who were educators before her and 13 years of experience as an agricultural educator at both the public school secondary and public post-secondary levels. Dr. Thieman has experience in a range of public school settings from small, remote rural-serving districts to large suburban districts.

Sign up